Do You Salsa?

Things are pretty calm over here right now. Just enjoying our time as a family before the husband goes away for work for a couple of weeks And he’s gone. Oh, and getting over being sick. Lots of throat coat tea and riiicooolaaaa for Nick and I! Those things work wonders. That and being able to actually rest. I did have to work on Saturday, though. It is getting COLD out! I’m so glad I actually had some gloves this time around. I’m excited for PFD’s and paying off some bills Never got it… Also, hopefully getting the process started for getting back to school and finally finishing my degree!

Fall has come and gone.

Autumn in Alaska

Autumn in Alaska.

On September 17th, we went to the fall festival that Pyrah’s Pioneer Peak Farm was putting on. While we got there too late for many of the festivities (Silas did have his first tractor hay ride)), we had plenty of time to pick some of the last autumn harvest. From the moment we walked in, I had a craving to make corned beef and cabbage and I decided I wasn’t leaving without a nice-sized cabbage head!

Pyrah’s is a U-Pick farm way out in the valley, located in a town called Butte (yes, this is where the butt is located). I had been itching to go there since the beginning of summer, so it was nice to finally check the place out. While there wasn’t much left by the time we got there, I’m sure it’s a happening place in the summer months and we still managed to pick a nice, big cabbage and some kale (all for the price of about $4. I’m telling you, it is a big cabbage. Double the size of grocery cabbages!)

I made kale chips for the first time with my fresh pickings, but I wasn’t too impressed. Maybe I just didn’t do it right (some olive oil and seasonings), but I found the texture to be nasty and the taste to be off. I was a bit worried because I still had two big piles of kale left to use up and had no idea how to accomplish this feat. I could have just made a salad, but that’s boring. I begged my mom for some help and she came up with a yummy soup recipe, including kale, sausage and bacon. I made it a couple nights ago, along with Prevention RD’s Italian appetizer bites, and our family had quite the feast! I’ve got grand plans for the cabbage (remember corned beef cabbage anyone?) Maybe if there’s still some cabbage left at the farm, I’ll pick some up and try to can some sauerkraut. Probably not gonna happen anymore since there’s already snow halfway down the mountains. I think it’s almost winter time!

Along with the farm theme, I’m hoping to make it out to Boreas Acres farm soon. Nick and I have plans of getting some pgymy goats in the future, but we want to learn as much as we can about them first and gain some first hand experience. The woman that runs the farm seems very nice and willing to help us accomplish this. I’m looking forward to playing with some goats! I’m sure Silas will love it too.

The other night I was craving salsa and chips, so I made some! My dad gave me a recipe a while ago that makes awesome salsa. We are salsa fanatics, so over the years we’ve come across many recipes (from Greek to authentic Mexican) and my father has meshed them all together to come up with this beauty below. It’s always a test as you go along recipe. I never seem to write down how much of everything I used to get the desired outcome, but my most recent salsa turned out perfect (if you love cilantro and spiciness). I actually remembered it this time!

Perfect Salsa

Perfect Salsa

Perfect Salsa Recipe:

3 small Roma tomatoes (you can use whatever type of tomato you like, but romas tend to be the least juiciest)

1/2 jalapeno (less if you don’t like your salsa spicy)

1/8 white onion (I cut a nice sized sliver out and then cut that in half. A little onion goes a long way)

2 cloves of garlic

3 cap fulls of apple cider vinegar (I just used the cap to the bottle to measure)

Cilantro, salt and black pepper to taste (I use tons of fresh cilantro, probably at least two nice hand-sized bunches, and also a fair bit of salt)

Also, while I was looking for the salsa pic, I stumbled across this cutie:

Baby Silas

Baby Silas

Aww, he used to be so cute and innocent…

On a final note, Josh Ritter will be playing at Latitude 62 in Talkeetna this January! I really hope there’s still tickets left. I’ve had the pleasure of seeing Josh in Boston (opening up for Death Cab for Cutie), Dolan’s in Limerick, Ireland and in Anchorage. I hope I can keep this awesome streak going!

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sarah said,

    Yum, I love homemade salsa! I make mine a lot chunkier – more like a pico de gallo than typical salsa. Usually just tomatoes, onions, green chiles, black olives, green onions, and of course, the apple cider vinegar!

  2. 3

    Errign said,

    Mmmm salsa…and kale. My favorite vegetable. Seriously, I love the stuff. Kale chips are a little weird at first, for sureeeeee. Ohhh baby Silas, you were so small!

    • 4

      Love salsa! I could eat it all day 🙂 If only the chips to dip them with were a bit healthier! Hehe. I should probably give kale chips another chance… He was tiny! Sometimes, when I see older pictures of him, I don’t even realize that it’s actually him at first!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment