Recipe: Winter Stew

It’s been seriously cold around these parts. I mean, I’m not complaining… Much. I’m sure Barrow has it worse, but when it gets below -10 degrees, I tend to become a hermit in our house. Bring on the movies, games and books. And the stew… Yummy for the tummy and warm to the belly.

I was searching the web for a great stew recipe. By great, I mean one that has ingredients that everyone in the household can eat. My husband is an extremely picky eater and Silas seems to have fallen close to the tree. I found a couple of recipes that, when combined, seemed to make a good and hearty stew.

First let me start by saying that I bought pork instead of beef (thinking pork roast, but wanting beef stew…. Yeah). Next time, I would definitely stick with beef, because I’m not really a pork fan and it tends to taint the stew taste a bit. Second, honestly if I were eating this on my own, I wouldn’t have any meat in it at all. I’m just not a fan of preparing and cooking meat and once I’ve seen what it looks like before it was cooked, I don’t really want to eat it afterward. I think this stew could easily become a nice vegetable soup with veggie broth subbed for chicken and extra veggies subbed for meat. But I digress… Ok, on to the recipe!

Pork Stew

Pork stew & oat bread.

Ingredients:

1 lb. stew meat (beef or pork, or hey, even chicken!)

2 cups water

1/4 cup flour (I used less than this. Just enough to coat the meat)

1 carton chicken broth (or veggie, or beef)

5 potatoes

5 carrots

can of corn

can of green beans

3 tablespoons sugar (brown or white)

2 tablespoons minced garlic (I like my garlic)

2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

1 & 1/4 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon oil (vegetable or olive)

1 tablespoon pepper

1 tablespoon onion powder (I think an actual onion would work better, but mr. husband doesn’t like the texture of onion)

1 tablespoon Cajun seasoning (or whatever seasoning you prefer)

1 small can tomato paste

Directions:

Start by coating meat in flour and then sauteing on oiled pan until meat is lightly browned.

While meat is cooking, add all other ingredients (except oil and flour) to crock pot and set on low.

Once meat is browned, add to crock pot and set to high

Cook for 4 hours on high, or 8 on low.

About an hour before it’s done, add left over flour to crock pot, add more to thicken to your liking. You can also add cornstarch.

While stew is cooking, you can make some easy and yummy bread! I used this recipe for oat bread.

We’ve had some friendly visitors around these parts, as well. Our little (I guess I should use little loosely) moose family has been out and about with all of this soft and comfy snow around. Mmm moose stew… Just kidding!

Moose Friend

Moose friend eating twigs by the house.

I saw the family of three having a pow wow by the stream the other day. I’m not gonna lie, it was kinda cute seeing the three of them, laying down in a circle, just chilling out. I definitely enjoy their company.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

