Southward and beyond!

It’s been a while since my last post. I had an amazing time on the coast of Maine, right by the border with Canada. We rented a house right on the beach and just relaxed and let Silas experience all of the sights and sounds. He even got to go on a sailboat and see his first whales (whether he  saw them or not is a different story. He was more interested in the sails)! It was an amazing experience for all of us and I was so happy that I got to share it with Silas.

It felt so amazing to be there. The ocean is the place where, no matter what’s going on in my life, I feel at peace. It’s so rejuvenating to just look out at that wide expanse of ocean and think about everyone who’s looking out on that same body of water.

I also spent a wonderful last week with my family in New Hampshire and enjoyed watching my parents spend time with their grandson. They witnessed so many of his milestones. Sitting up, eating solids, crawling for the first time, using a sippy cup, standing… It all seemed to go by so fast. It was sad to leave, but it’s good to be back home. The past month I’ve been getting re-acquainted with life in Alaska, after three long months away.

I came back to our house overtaken by forest, fresh raspberries in the yard and rain. Lots and lots of rain… I kinda had forgotten about that kind of weather. Almost every day was bright and sunny in New Hampshire. Coming back to cloudy skies and thunderstorms (very uncommon up here) was refreshing, for the first couple of days anyway. It got old fast, however.

Today it’s rainy again, but I can’t complain. We’ve had a couple of good, sunny weeks, which is a gift in Alaska. When it’s warm and sunny in this state, it beats any amazing day in Florida, or the Bahamas. Alaska is special. It has this indescribable beauty, and to me, that beauty is at it’s best when it’s sixty-five degrees out (although it feels like the temperature is in the eighties) and the sun is gleaming on the glacier capped mountains.

Enough about all of that, though. It’s been an interesting couple of weeks. One sad week in particular. My friend’s fourteen month old son died the other week. It’s still hard to imagine. It doesn’t feel real. It does, however, make me hold Silas a little closer and not get as frustrated when he cries for an hour straight. I feel horrible for my friends. They are such wonderful people. No one deserves to experience the death of a child, but especially not these people. I hope that they can eventually find peace in it all.

I can’t believe my little Silas is already eight months old. He’s such an amazing little boy. His new favorite thing is blowing raspberries and making sounds with his lips. He looks at everything so intently as if he’s trying to figure it all out. I think he’s already smarter than me in so many ways. He’s got such a little personality all ready. I can’t wait to see what kind of person he will become.

Silas, my friend and I are heading to the coast tomorrow. I’m so excited to see Seward and possibly Homer! It will probably be the last time until next summer, as fall is already approaching. The leaves are starting to turn golden and snow is just around the corner. I won’t think about that now, though. The sun is supposed to be shining tomorrow and I’m going to continue experiencing summer at it’s best up here. I can’t wait to see the crystal clear harbor and notice the reflection of the mountains in the water. Hopefully we’ll see a sea otter or two and maybe even a beluga whale on our way over!

Goodnight all 🙂

Leave a Reply

