Random Ramblings

Just a little update from the Last Frontier:

  • Silas is starting to walk!! And so it begins… He’s taken about ten steps so far, before falling to his demise on the carpet. He seems to think it’s pretty awesome. I would to, if it wasn’t for the fact that this means I’ll have to chase him around even MORE. Oh goodness… At least I’ll be getting a workout!
  • Also, it snowed last week and it’s sticking! I’m pretty excited about this. I love the holidays and snow really helps add to the mood. Time to break out the holiday music! 🙂
  • Silas experienced his first Halloween! We went to a little Halloween party the night before All Hallows’ Eve and Silas dressed up as a glow-in-the-dark skeleton. I think he was a little bit upset and disappointed when he saw another baby dressed up as the same thing. I think he was even more miffed when he saw that this baby could walk. Talk about adding insult to injury… I still think he was the cutest skeleton of the bunch, but I guess I’m a bit biased.
  • I’m trying to find a cheap way to let the dogs run loose in the yard. I feel so bad that they have to spend all day inside, but we just don’t have the money for a fence and they like to explore a little too much to be left alone in the yard. We have a wire for them to go out on, but there’s only one and they hate going out alone. Any ideas?
  • Nick, Liz and I went to Talkeetna on Sunday to check out the Roadhouse restaurant. Apparently they have awesome biscuits and gravy and Nick has been looking for someone who can make them better than him. He does make some good biscuits and gravy! He still thinks he can make the best biscuits and gravy, but he wasn’t completely against theirs either. I really enjoy Tallkeetna. It’s got such a good hippie, nature-loving feel to it. I kinda wish I could live there. I’ve only been during the summer months, though. It was so beautiful to see the town with snow on the ground. They’ve got a couple of inches already!
  • I’ve been trying to cook more. It seems like most everything I make has the same ingredients in it, though… I make garlic bread, home style macaroni and garlic chicken pizza all with the same garlic butter concoction. It’s pretty good, though, so I’m ok with eating it multiple times per week. This is the basic ingredients (I just put however much I feel like of everything):
  1. Organic butter
  2. Fresh garlic (I use a magic bullet to mash it up)
  3. Oregano
  4. Sea Salt
  5. Crushed black pepper
  6. And of course, lots and lots of cheese. I usually use a mix of Mexican, cheddar and mozzarella.

After that, I just mix this mix with bread crumbs, bread slices, or right onto some pizza dough. It makes any food pretty yummy. For the garlic chicken pizza, we poke holes in the pizza dough to let the sauce seep  into the dough and then dose with garlic butter sauce, including the crust, add grilled chicken and spread lots of cheese on the top.

  • I also reaffirmed my love for Nutella this week. It reminds me of the Kinder Bueno chocolate I used to eat in Ireland. So amazing! I made some Nutella hot chocolate. It’s pretty simple. Just warm up some milk in a pan on the stove and then add the Nutella and let it melt. I probably don’t have to tell you, but it’s very good.
  • I’ll end with the fact that we’re watching Commando at the moment… Nick’s choice. At least it’s putting Silas to sleep.
Leave a Reply

