Blast from the Past!

So, just a heads up… This post was actually written on Monday.

Today was another lazy day. I didn’t have to go into work today, so Silas and I slept in. Apparently Silas is a very sleepy boy today, because he’s in the midst of taking a three hour nap! That’s a rare occurrence. Right now I’m making some chamomile tea and trying to figure out what courses I want to hopefully take next semester. That’s right, I’m heading back to school! I had a nice little break and now it’s time to get back down to business.

I was extremely excited to learn that Oregon State University has an online Anthropology program. Since my amazing husband has transferred over his GI Bill to me, I can go back to school full time! Of course, there’s always a hitch. Apparently with the GI Bill, you can’t get a living allowance as a distance learner. I think the whole rule is kind of unfair, considering it’s hard for me to actually go on campus and take classes with Silas, and the fact that the campus is an hour away doesn’t help. So I’m basically penalized because I’ve got a family and part time job and live a bit out of the way… I know I shouldn’t complain. I’m so lucky to have this extra money to put towards school. Plus, if I take even just one class at the University of Alaska Anchorage, I should be able to get that living allowance. Here’s hoping!

In other news, I made garlic mayo cheese fries last night. I should’ve taken a picture because they looked amazingly disgusting, but so good. I got the idea from a chip shop that I used to frequent in Limerick, Ireland called Rio’s. Their chips are SO amazing. I miss them. Mine didn’t turn out to be an exact copy, but they weren’t bad. Let this be a warning, however, you will have extreme garlic breath after you eat just one of these chips!

This afternoon, I finished up the chips I couldn’t eat last night and tried to counter the complete unhealthiness, with something a bit better for you: a salad made with lettuce from our AeroGarden! Let me tell you, that garden really works! It’s pretty amazing. The lettuce sprouted up within a week and it’s going strong. We’ve got a nice system going right now, where we start by putting whatever we want to grow in the garden and then once it starts to thrive, we move it to Nick’s aquaponics system and then start growing something new in the garden, and so on and so forth. It’s been working out pretty well so far. In a future post, I’ll let you all know the gist of aquaponics, if you don’t already know, and post some pics of the whole system. It’s pretty neat!

Salad made with lettuce from our AeroGarden!

And from here we move onto today, November 18th. Not much happening… Tried to get some cleaning done and figure out school stuff. Looks like I probably won’t be going back to school until next Fall. Oh well… It’ll be something to look forward to! Thanks to my friend Hillary, we’ll have something to look forward to tomorrow night as well. The Renewable Energy Alaska Project is having an event at Snow City Cafe tomorrow night. It should be interesting and hopefully very educational. Nick and I are always looking for new ideas on how to be more energy efficient. If you’re in the Anchorage area, you should stop on by. It’s $10 to get in, but there’s free appetizers and lots of fun to be had.

I guess that’s about it. I’ll have a review on the REAP event up by Saturday, hopefully! Have a good weekend everybody 🙂

Leave a Reply

