Truly Beautiful

Today was the last day of the beluga season for me. As I stood out in the 20 degree weather, I thought about the fact that I probably would never again witness the view that I saw before me at that very moment.

Point Woronzof

View of Point Woronzof

From where I was standing, I could see the Cook inlet, the mouth of the Knik river, Port McKenzie and point Woronzof. From where I was standing, I had spent almost half a year looking for one of the smallest whales in the waters.

Belugas

How I actually saw the belugas.

From where I was standing, I got paid to watch some of my favorite creatures on the earth (err… in the ocean). Suddenly the biting chill wasn’t that cold and standing up for four hours didn’t seem like such a big deal. I like the thought that I hopefully helped to secure protection for these amazing animals and I’m so lucky to have had the chance to see them up close in their natural habitat.

True Beauty

True beauty.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Errign said,

    ❤ 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

