I’m sure if you follow my blog, you’ll be amazed that there’s actually a new post at the top. I know I haven’t been the best at keeping up, but that’s what the new year is for, right? I’ve never really been one for new year goals, but I’m going to try my hardest to set and keep a couple of them in 2012 (up until the world ends, of course…)

1. Blog at least once a week, complete with pictures. I’ve been blogging about once a month lately, which doesn’t make for an interesting blog, does it?

2. Cook at home more. A lot more. I have been getting better at cooking family meals at home, but I’ve still been pretty lazy at it. It’s been maybe twice a week, when it really should be every day of the week.

3. Read at least one book a month. I know that sounds sad… I used to read all the time, but December was the first time I’ve read through a whole book uninterrupted since Silas was born. 2 years (I told you it was sad). My friend sent up the book Dewey the Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World as a Christmas present. It was so cute and light-hearted, you couldn’t help but finish it up in one go.

4. Promote my business more. Birch Tree Naturals is doing better than I thought, but I still haven’t even made back what I put into it. I’m hoping to promote my products more and maybe do some craft fairs next holiday season. Any one wanna be a regional representative?! I’m only partially kidding…

5. Learn to knit. I’ve had the materials for a while and just never found the time or inspiration to actually knit something. Winters are so long, dark and cold up here… Knitting by a cozy fire sounds wonderful right about now!

6. Get active. I’ve let myself go. I need to start working out again and eating healthy. It’s as simple as that.

Today is what I’d call a snow day (that would be a couple of days ago now… I’m already slacking). The power was out this morning from the inches of snow resting on the power lines and the white stuff is still steadily falling. It’s been pretty lazy over here, so I thought I’d take some time to go through some old pictures from the year past. Here’s a compilation album of things we did in 2011!

Glacier

We decided to head about an hour out of Palmer and check out the Matanuska Glacier.

Silas

Silas got hair!

Gardening

We tried to do some gardening. Key word: tried...

Smokey Bear

We had photo shoots with Smokey Bear while hiking Alaska throughout the summer.

Caines Head

And saw beautiful views while exploring.

Silas

We went family camping for the first time in Seward.

Silas

It was a beautiful and sunny summer. I'm definitely missing the sun right now.

Polar Bear

We saw the Alaska polar bear cub before she left the Alaska Zoo for bigger and better things.

Grampie & Silas

Grammie & Grampie came to visit.

Grammie & Silas

Twice!

Homer

We took a mini vaca to one of my favorite places: Homer.

Pizza

Made some yummy food.

Birch Tree Naturals

Started a business!

Silas

And enjoyed the holidays with family & friends!

Happy new year everyone! I hope it’s off to a great start!

Leave a Reply

