Concert: Josh Ritter

Saturday night, I had the privilege of seeing (in my opinion) one of the best songwriters of our time: Josh Ritter. I first saw him in Boston, opening for Death Cab for Cutie (Regina Spektor also opened that night. Talk about an amazing concert!) It was the perfect setting. An outdoor concert right on the waterfront. A young twenty-something came on stage, looking bashful and truly happy to be there. He sang a couple songs and they were simple, yet beautiful. Kathleen and Snow is Gone being some of the crowd favorites. During intermission, I decided that I needed his album and never looked back.

Josh Ritter

Josh Ritter happily live

I didn’t really think I’d be seeing him again anytime soon, but just a year later, I happened to find out that he was playing at one of the local pubs in Limerick, Ireland. I thought it was some sort of destiny. I watched him that night, a huge smile on his face. Still the same. His smile was infectious and kept me happy and satisfied for days after the concert. I couldn’t wait for him to serenade me again (doesn’t everyone feel, just a little bit, that they’re attending a concert just for them?) This time, he had the amazingly beautiful and emotional song Girl in the War, to add to the mix. Such a powerful song, magnified ten times when live.

Josh Ritter

Josh Ritter, big grin.

I didn’t see him again until 2009, when he played in Anchorage. He was becoming a bigger star, but he still seemed like the same bashful songwriter, with more grown up lyrics. Still pure and thought-provoking. Still folky, and still one of the best storytellers I had ever heard.

Josh Ritter

Josh Ritter live.

This year, I heard that Josh Ritter would be back in Alaska, not only in Anchorage, but also Talkeetna and Palmer. I was so caught up with seeing him in a small-town setting, that I almost missed out on all of his concerts completely. Luckily, I was able to attend his show in Anchorage and it was pure magic!

He came on stage with just two other musicians, playing guitar and stand up bass. He played some new songs and some old. His new songs were just as mesmerizing as ever. He had funny little conversations with the audience, as always. Charming and sincere. The harmonies, chords and voices were perfectly imperfect. Real and true. Pure bliss for the senses.

Josh Ritter

Josh Ritter & roses.

I could go on and on (and on) about how amazing Josh Ritter is and how his concerts can seemingly change your life, or in the least, make you grin throughout the rest of the night, but I’ll save you the blabber! Suffice to say, you won’t be disappointment if you ever do get, and take, the chance to see him.

Josh Ritter

Oh moustache!

So here’s a little plug to my man, Josh Ritter!

 

If you wanna dance:

To the Dogs (Or Whoever)

Mind’s Eye

 

If you’re feeling thoughtful:

Thin Blue Flame

Girl in the War

Monster Ballads

 

Just for fun:

Galahad

Lillian, Egypt

Josh Ritter

Look at those luscious locks!

And on a fangirl note… I really miss his curly white boy afro.

Leave a Reply

